Energy Queensland CEO starts work in Townsville

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk and Energy Minister Mark Bailey have welcomed Energy Queensland’s new CEO on his first official day on the job in Townsville today.

The Government has also announced five new members to the board of directors of the new Townsville-headquartered power distribution body.

In Townsville for a State Cabinet meeting, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk, said the latest announcement underlined the delivery by her government of its commitment for a single, regionally based power distribution body.

The new Energy Queensland has been formed by the merger of Energex and Ergon with net savings estimated at more than $560 million over five years.

“When the merger was announced in December 2015, my government committed to supporting regional Queensland and have followed through with that commitment by having Energy Queensland headquartered in Townsville,” the Premier said.

“Energy Queensland will have an asset base of over $24 billion and will serve more than 4.8 million people following a staged transition process.”

“New Energy Queensland CEO David Smales brings with him a wealth of experience to the Townsville-based role, most recently holding the position as General Manager, Generation at Origin Energy.

Prior to joining Origin in 2010, Mr Smales held senior roles in UK-based generation companies, including Drax Power, where he led the development of a large biomass-fuelled renewables business.

Energy Minister Mark Bailey also welcomed the new directors.

“The appointment of Teresa Dyson, Kathy Hirschfeld, Hugh Gleeson, Mark Algie and North Queensland’s Helen Stanton for the next three years will bring significant corporate knowledge and expertise to Energy Queensland,” Mr Bailey said.

“I am confident we have found the most suitably qualified people with the skills and capabilities needed to guide the innovative and customer-focused Energy Queensland into the future.”

The new directors join the three-person board that has overseen the new entity since 1 July.

Before the merger of Ergon and Energex to form Energy Queensland took effect, Treasurer Curtis Pitt announced experienced power industry identity Phil Garling to a three-year term to chair the board of the new organisation.

Two other directors were also appointed — lawyer and company director Ms Kerryn Newton who has also served on the Energex Board since 2008; and Ergon director and North Queensland business leader Clive Skarott.

Mr Bailey said Energy Queensland had been created to deliver better outcomes for customers, for employees and for communities across the state.

New Energy Queensland directors:

  • Teresa Dyson brings more than 29 years of experience in the legal and professional services industry specialising in tax, including a 16-year term as partner at Ashurst was a Partner at Deloitte.
  • Kathy Hirschfeld holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) and brings experience as a director through numerous board roles covering the petroleum and energy sectors.
  • Hugh Gleeson has 30 years of experience in the regulated utilities sector, most recently serving as CEO at United Energy and Multinet Gas, as well as extensive experience on numerous water and energy boards.
  • Mark Algie brings more than 15 years’ experience in senior human resource management roles within the construction, infrastructure, heavy engineering and media sectors, and recently held the role of Managing Director of Human Outsource which provides HR and IR expertise to large corporates.
  • Helen Stanton, from Ingham, has extensive experience as a director through board roles covering the health and energy sectors including nine years as director of Ergon Energy, a 13-year term as director of Ingham Disability Services and director roles on numerous boards.

Contact - Michael Dart 0408 880 581